Fastest bowler in the world is backTayla Vlaeminck will be back for Australia after a long injury lay off (AAP Image/Scott Barbour)


Superstar Ellyse Perry is back in the Australian squad with NSW rising star Hannah Darlington also in the frame for an international debut against New Zealand in March.

South Australian teenager Darce Brown, who only turns 18 next month, has also earned a call-up while Tayla Vlaeminck, the fastest female bowler in Australian cricket, returns after making a strong comeback from a serious injury for Victoria.

Perry missed Australia’s record-setting ODI series against the Kiwis before Christmas, when captain Meg Lanning’s team equalled the world record for most consecutive ODI wins, after struggling to overcome the hamstring issue which forced her to miss the T20 World Cup win last year.

But she returned during the WBBL during which Darlington, who turned 20 last month, played a starring role for the Sydney Thunder in their title win, earning herself selection in the Aussie squad.

“The likes of Darcie Brown and Hannah Darlington have impressed us with their skill and professionalism, and we are delighted to reward them with selection in this squad,” national selector Shawn Flegler said.

““Darcie enjoyed an excellent rebel WBBL campaign with the Adelaide Strikers and has also made a great start to the WNCL with the SA Scorpions. Her ability to bowl fast outswing makes her an exciting prospect at just 17 years old.

“We also welcome Hannah Darlington into the squad after playing a crucial part in the Sydney Thunder’s WBBL|06 championship.

“She has been brought into the squad primarily with a T20 focus as we look towards both the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham and 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa.

“These new additions are complemented by the return of Tayla Vlaeminck to the national squad after a long injury lay-off. She has been working her way back to full fitness in the WNCL with Victoria and we’ve already seen some devastating spells from her.

“Similarly, Ellyse Perry has been making solid progress in her return from a hamstring injury and we look forward to her taking part in this series after not featuring against New Zealand in September and October.”

Australia will take on New Zealand in three Twenty20 Internationals from March 28, before the coveted Rose Bowl Trophy goes on the line in three One-Day Internationals from April 4.

The Aussies will also look to make it 22 ODI wins in a row, breaking the record set by Ricky Ponting’s men’s team in 2003.

The Australian squad:
Meg Lanning, Rachael Haynes, Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Belinda Vakarewa, Tayla Vlaeminck,
Georgia Wareham



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here